Animal Experimentation

Vision
To be a strategic partner with unrivalled resources and expertise in the production of Laboratory Animals and provision of standardized Animal Experimentation services as well as training of Laboratory Animal Scientists & Technicians for the Biomedical community in Africa.


Mission
To provide well-defined Laboratory Animals for Research, Teaching and Testing for the improvement of human health, taking cognisance of their humane care and use and the 3Rs (Reduction, Refinement & Replacement)

 

Activities
The Department produces and supplies standardized laboratory animals for biomedical research, taking cognisance of their humane care and use and in line with the 3Rs (Reduction, Refinement & Replacement) and the 5Fs (Freedom from hunger or thirst, Freedom from discomfort, Freedom from pain, injury or disease, Freedom to express (most) normal behaviour and Freedom from fear and distress). The Department houses the secretariat of the University of Ghana Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee (UG-IACUC), which ensures an oversight of the proper care and humane use of animals in research, testing and teaching programmes in NMIMR and the University of Ghana.  Techniques and expertise employed in the Department include laboratory animal breeding and husbandry, facility management and advisory services, veterinary care and diagnostic services, microbiological testing, molecular genotyping, efficacy and safety testing, histopathological tissue processing and pyrogen testing.

 

Staff
Administrative and Research staff
Samuel Adjei, Ph.D.:  Head of Department:            Email:  sadjei@noguchi.ug.edu.gh
Najat Dauda, MBA:Senior Administrative Assistant: Email: ndauda@noguchi.ug.edu.gh
Ivy Kakra Afrane, B.Sc: Administrative Assistant:   Email: ikafrane@noguchi.ug.edu.gh
Emmanuel Kodua, DVM: Chief Research Assistant/Attending Veterinarian: Email: ekodua@noguchi.ug.edu.gh
Shirley Adu-Poku, M.Phil: Principal Research Assistant: Email: sadu-poku@noguchi.ug.edu.gh
Constance Agbemelo-Tsomafo, M.Phil: Principal Research Assistant: Email:cagbemelo-tsomafo@noguchi.ug.edu.gh
Believe Ahedor, M.Sc: Senior Research Assistant:         Email:bahedor@noguchi.ug.edu.gh

Animal care and Technical Support Staff
Jacob Quarshie
Samuel Azinogo
Christopher Amevor
Alexandar Lawer Kemausour
Kennedy Tagoe
Agbesi Anchor
Bernard Addo
Paul K. Padi
Thomas Ataogye
Jacob Nantomah
Francis Adu-Poku
Samuel Anang
Edmond Ansah

 

Contact for further enquiries on DAE Services, etc.
Phone: +233 302 501178/9 (ext. 3402); Email: animalunit@noguchi.ug.edu.gh


Contact for further enquiries on UG-IACUC review application, etc.
Phone: +233 24 2759315; Email: ug-iacuc@ug.edu.gh

 

 

The Noguchi Memorial Institute for Medical Research (NMIMR), set up in 1979 as a semi autonomous institute of the University, is the leading biomedical research facility in Ghana.

© 2017 NMIMR

Other Links

Get In Touch