Search Our Site

+233 030 2501178/79

The Department of Parasitology conducts research into parasitic diseases of public health importance with the overall goal of reducing their transmission and the heavy disease burden that they impose on affected populations. The Department maintains focus on parasitic diseases in general. These include major diseases such as malaria, and others listed under the Neglected Tropical Diseases (NTD) control initiative such as, lymphatic filariasis, onchocerciasis, schistosomiasis, soil-transmitted helminthiasis, trypanosomiasis and leishmaniasis. Also, research is undertaken into parasite implicated diseases in reproductive health (e.g., toxoplasmosis) and diarrhoeal diseases (e.g., cryptosporidiosis and amoebiasis). The Parasitology Department maintains strong collaboration with other departments to strengthen research into disease conditions with possible parasitic involvement such as asthma and related allergies and the transmission of Buruli ulcer. In pursuing the research objectives, the Department emphasizes research into emerging and re-emerging parasitic diseases, vector studies, control of viral hemorrhagic fever, and development of advanced diagnostic capability in Parasitology.

Research in the department is conducted by staff including Research Fellows, Research Assistants, Technicians, Postgraduate Students and Visiting Researchers from institutions around the world. Efforts are being made to expand the staff base to include more PhD holders, post-docs and expert scientists.

Expertise Available
Expertise and techniques available in the department include morpho-taxonomy, cyto-taxonomy, immune-diagnosis, proteomics, gene cloning, sequencing, bioinformatics, Geographic Information Systems (GIS), development and use of Information Education Communication (IEC) as well as Behaviour Change Communication (BCC) in the control of parasitic diseases.

Research Divisions within the Department
Research in the Parasitology Department is organized in five major research areas under five specialized units for:
1. Improved diagnostics,
2. Molecular parasitology,
3. Parasite immunology,
4. Medical entomology
5. Applied parasitology.

Dr. Samuel K. Dadzie                  Head of Department
 Prof. Michael D. Wilson  Professor
 Prof. Daniel Boakye  Professor
Prof. Maxwell Appawu Associate Professor
Prof. Mitsuko Ohashie Associate Professor
Dr. Irene Ayi
Senior Research Fellow
Dr. Anita Ghansah
Senior Research Fellow
Dr. Dziedzom K. de Souza Senior Research Fellow
Dr. William Anyan  Research Fellow
Dr. Nicase Ndam
 Visiting Scientist
Sakyi Kojo Yirenkyi
Chief Research Assistant
Joseph Otchere Chief  Research Assistant
Joseph Chabi Chief Research Assistant
Charles Quaye Principal Research Assistant
Joseph Harold N Osei Principal Research Assistant
Kwadwo K. Fremong Principal Research Assistant
Osei K. Akuoko Principal Research Assistant
Kofi D. Kwofie Principal Research Assistant
Charles A. Narh Principal Research Assistant
Joseph Quaye Senior Technician
Yvonne Ashng Senior Technician
Andy Asarfo-Agyeye Snr. Research Assistant
Jeffery Agyappong Snr. Research Assistant
Adimazoya Michelle Snr. Research Assistant
Michael Amoah-Bosompem Snr. Research Assistant
Mosore Mba-Tihssommah Snr. Research Assistant
Emmanuel Kwame-Amoakoh Snr. Research Assistant
Ales Kojo Datsomor Snr. Research Assistant
Edward Dumashi Laboratory Technologist
Aikins Ablorde Research Assistant
Bernice Budu
Administrative Assistant
Iddrisu Alidu
Research Assistant
Acquah-Baiden Dominic Research Assistant
Benjamin Amponsah
Senior Clerk

Contact us


P.O. Box LG 581
Legon, Accra

+233 030 2501178/79