Scientific and Technical Committee


The STC established in 1982 is charged with the scientific evaluation of all research protocols and amendments proposed at NMIMR prior to IRB approval and study initiation. Its reviews encompass an assessment of the scientific rationale and merit of a proposed study in addition to the protocol design, safety considerations and bio statistical analysis to determine if high quality and appropriate designs are being used to address the study question(s). It also reviews informed consent documents to assess their scientific accuracy and ensure that participants are clearly informed of risks, side effects and any alternative treatments.

The STC is chaired by the Director of the institute and has membership comprising selected professors, four departmental Heads and a representative each from the University of Ghana Institute for Statistical Social and Economic Research (ISSER), School of Medicine and Dentistry and the department of Biochemistry. The Institute‘s Administrator, and the coordinator, who is a Research Development Officer provide administrative support.



Professor Abraham Kwabena Anang                     -          Director

Professor George E. Armah                                  -          Electron Microscopy

Professor Yeboah-Manu                                        -          Bacteriology

Professor Ben Gyan                                             -          Immunology

Professor K.K Addo                                              -          Bacteriology

Professor Eric Sampane                                        -         SBAHS

Professor Regina Appiah-Oppong                           -         Clinical Pathology

Professor William Ampofo                                     -          Virology

Professor Gordon Awandare                                  -          SBAS

Dr. Samuel Adjei                                                  -          Animal Experimentation

Dr. Nancy Duah                                                    -         Epidemiology

Dr. Godfred Egbi                                                  -          Nutrition

Dr. Ama Pokua Fenny                                           -          ISSER

In attendance:

Mr. Okyere Boateng                                             -           Executive Secretary

Mr. George Mensah                                              -           Epidemiologist

Ms. Helena Baidoo                                               -           Research Development Officer

Ms. Celestine A. Sappor                                       -          Principal Administrative Assistant

Ms. Dorcas Osei-Boakye                                     -           Administrative Assistant




The Noguchi Memorial Institute for Medical Research (NMIMR), set up in 1979 as a semi autonomous institute of the University, is the leading biomedical research facility in Ghana.

© 2021 NMIMR

Get In Touch